The Whole Town's Talking

The Whole Town's Talking

by

Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it’s called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town’s Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder’s Our Town and Flagg’s own Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways.

Lordor Nordstrom created, in his wisdom, not only a lively town and a prosperous legacy for himself but also a beautiful final resting place for his family, friends, and neighbors yet to come. “Resting place” turns out to be a bit of a misnomer, however. Odd things begin to happen, and it starts the whole town talking.

With her wild imagination, great storytelling, and deep understanding of folly and the human heart, the beloved Fannie Flagg tells an unforgettable story of life, afterlife, and the remarkable goings-on of ordinary people. In The Whole Town’s Talking, she reminds us that community is vital, life is a gift, and love never dies.

Title:The Whole Town's Talking
Edition Language:English
ISBN:140006595X
Format Type:
Number of Pages:402 pages

    The Whole Town's Talking Reviews

  • Paromjit

    I chose to read this book because the author wrote Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe which I loved. I wasn't certain what to expect, but it turns out to be a heartwarming story of a cluste...

  • Diane S ?

    I consider Fannie Flag one of my ultimate comfort read authors. The book started delightfully strong, with letters back and forth from a farmer looking to take on a mail order Swedish wife. But.....I ...

  • Carol

    What a delightful read! Ha!.....and you'll never ever guess who eats the pie and brings our story to the end of the line.....or so we think.It's around 1880 when a big, tall and blonde 28 year old Lor...

  • Julie

    The Whole Town?s Talking by Fannie Flagg is a 2016 Random House publication.Fannie Flagg tells a whimsical and fantastical yarn centered around Elmwood, Missouri. The story begins with the town?s ...

  • Toni

    "And they lived happily ever after." Remember that line from old story books? Well, that's exactly what Fannie Flagg brings back. A classic, feel-good story, with lovable characters, quaint little tow...

  • DeB MaRtEnS

    2.5 starsThe whole town started talking in 1889, with the arrival of Lordor Nordstrom, from Sweden, to what became the village of Elmwood Springs, Missouri and the conversations seemed to go on interm...

  • Joyb Animalcrackers

    I do enjoy Fannie Flagg stories and thought this one was just about perfect until the focus of the action changes from the little town in Missouri to its cemetery!I wanted to spend much longer with th...

  • Carrie

    The Whole Town's Talking begins in 1889 in a little town that will soon be known as Elmwood Springs, Missouri with it's founding member Lordor Nordstrom. Lordor and his neighbors will build and make E...

  • Barbara

    "The Whole Town's Talking" is the story of a Missouri farm town and its quirky, loving, loyal, sometimes shiftless - or even greedy and amoral - inhabitants. The book spans the years from 1889 to 2021...

  • Book Concierge

    Audiobook performed by Kimberly FarrThis is the fourth book about the residents of Elmwood Springs (though it is not listed as part of the series). In this volume, Flagg tells the history of Elmwood S...