Small Admissions
3.72/5 by 2940 users

Small Admissions

by

People’s Book of the Week

The Devil Wears Prada meets Primates of Park Avenue.” —The New York Times

“Perfect for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep.”—Booklist

Top 6 Books You Need to Read—BuzzFeed

Best Books to Give Every Book Lover on Your List—Town and Country

One admission can change your life...forever.

When ambitious grad student Kate Pearson’s handsome French “almost fiancé” ditches her, she definitely does not roll with the punches, despite the best efforts of family and friends. It seems that nothing will get Kate out of pajamas and back into the world.

Miraculously, one cringe-worthy job interview leads to a position in the admissions department at the revered Hudson Day School. Kate’s instantly thrown into a highly competitive and occasionally absurd culture, where she interviews all types of children: suitable, wildly unsuitable, charming, loathsome, ingratiating, or spoiled beyond all measure. And then there are the Park Avenue parents who refuse to take no for an answer.

As Kate begins to learn there’s no room for self-pity or nonsense during the height of admissions season or life itself, her sister and friends find themselves keeping secrets, dropping bombshells, and arguing with each other about how to keep Kate on her feet. Meanwhile, Kate seems to be doing very nicely, thank you, and is even beginning to find out that her broken heart is very much on the mend. Welcome to the world of Small Admissions.

Title:Small Admissions
Edition Language:English
ISBN:1501122525
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:368 pages

    Small Admissions Reviews

  • Chelsea Humphrey
    Jun 13, 2016

    Guilty Pleasure. Those are the two words I’d use to describe this book. I stated in my brief, immediate thoughts after finishing this one how I rarely give Chick Lit 5 stars, but I stand by my opin...

  • Larry Hoffer
    Jan 11, 2017

    I'm between 3.5 and 4 stars, so I'll round up.Sometimes after I've read a few fairly heavy or angsty books, I need to metaphorically cleanse my literary palate by reading something a little lighter. I...

  • Lola  Reviewer
    Nov 14, 2016

    I would not be surprised if this became a best seller. Maybe not #1 of its genre, but it’s interesting and insightful, since it explores multiple subjects. With the use of humour.This is a book part...

  • Sam
    Dec 01, 2016

    Small Admissions is an easy read, by turns occasionally smartly observed and amusing, but also thin, never penetrating far beneath the surface layers of its characters and situations. The novel center...

  • Suzanne Leopold
    Jan 18, 2017

    Kate Pearson quits graduate school to live in Paris with her French boyfriend, Robert. She is blindsided by Robert as he quickly breaks off the relationship and she ends up moving back to New York Cit...

  • Aditi
    Feb 14, 2017

    “Cry. Forgive. Learn. Move on. Let your tears water the seeds of your future happiness.” ----Steve MaraboliAmy Poeppel, an American author, has penned a terrific and extremely entertaining debut...

  • Olivia-Savannah Roach
    Jan 09, 2017

    I wasn’t entirely sure what I was going in for when I decided to read and review Small Admissions. But I was pretty pleased and satisfied by the time I finished reading this book. Although it is cen...

  • Jenna
    Jan 07, 2017

    A fun, frothy confection and lightning-fast read, this is ChickLit at its finest. This isn't a book that will likely stick with you for the ages, but neither will you regret the time you've spent with...

  • Toni
    Jan 19, 2017

    If you're in a January slump because of gray skies and rainy weather, or any other reason, get this book in any form. It will brighten your mood, make you laugh out loud, and you'll even shake your he...

  • Grace {Rebel Mommy Book Blog}
    Dec 07, 2016

    Review This book started off a bit rocky for me. It was in the third person which I am not that big of a fan and it was just flat out a little confusing. I am so glad I stuck with it though because ...